Man, I didn’t get up this morning and run. But later in the day, after my first session with my counselor, I MADE myself go to the gym. I mean, I really, really had to make myself go. I said “just for 20 minutes, then you can leave.”

I did the elliptical for 10 minutes, then jumped on the treadmill for 35 minutes. I basically walked slow but did the maximum incline (15).

I think I ate pretty clean today. Actually, what probably saved me is that there are no fast food places here in small town NH, and we don’t have any junk food in the house!

Breakfast: Oatmeal
Lunch: small piece of steak and boiled egg
Snack: 6 tortilla chips w/ Salsa

Snack: Grilled Cheese w/ wheat bread
Snack: grapes + pineapple chunks
Dinner: chicken w/ mozzarella and tomatoes + sauted green beans

J and I were talking about how we haven’t had soda in the house in weeks. Even then it was caffeine free-diet soda or the diet lemondade, but we don’t miss it. Maybe there’s something to be said for not having that in the house. I definitely drink more H20 than ever. And I’ve even refrained from getting a soda when I buy lunch at work!

So, as for the counselor. We met today and I was honest about my lifestyle, goals and insecurities regarding my weight. I told her that if I leave her in 9 months in the same physical condition that I got here in, I’m not sure I could take it. The pain of that thought is more compelling than the forces I have to overcome to get this weight off. She said “that sounds do-able, realistic” so that was good.

These aren’t my legs pictured, but as I left the gym today I saw my legs in a mirror and I decided that I like them. Actually I’ve always liked my legs, so I’m going to continue to find things about my body that I DO like and celebrate those.

Next Up: Health Insurance, Booking a Massage and a Pedicure all in the name of loving myself.

It felt great to give myself a star today for eating and working out.

