I love this pic! I want guns (and abs) like that!Today was damn near perfect as far as I’m concerned. The weather was great, no work for two more days and I got to ride my motorcycle and hit the gym.I was actually excited all day about getting to the gym (wtf?) although I haven’t been since mid-week. But I felt strong and wanted to get some cardio in. Part of it is “feeling” lighter and via the scale I’m anywhere from 4-6 lbs down so somewhere in the 274 range (still, sort of). But my goal for september is to crack into the 260’s.

I’ve been eating better, but not BEST. I am making better choices but every day I may sneak a little extra snack or add a little more to my plate in the name of “I’m getting more exercise so I’m more hungry so it’s okay” when really, no its not. Fortunately it hasn’t been too bad, but I could be seeing more weight drop with cleaner eating habits. The trouble is…I’m hitting the road alot in September so I’ve really got to stay on top of things so I can meet my goal. My pants felt looser and one of my housemates said it looked like I’d dropped some weight.

My iPod playlist for the gym tonite was AMAZING. The right music can soooo make a difference, no? Mostly Outkast and specifically the song Morris Brown which has a great beat and is a long one.

Treadmill: 47:30 and most of that was jogging at 3.3 or 3.5 and if/when i was walking it was at 2 or 3 % incline! I was sweating like I had broken out of jail! I circuit trained until they kicked us out of the gym.

Circuit 1:

Lat pulldowns wide grip: 40 lbs x 20 reps
Reverse grip pulldowns: 40 lbs x 20 reps
Bench Press : Bar x 20 reps
Skull Crushers : 30 lb bar x 15 reps
Jump Rope : 24 seconds/40 rotations

Circuit 2:

Lat pulldowns wide grip: 50 lbs x 15 reps
Reverse grip pulldowns: 50 lbs x 15 reps
Bench Press : Bar +5lbs x 17 reps
Skull Crushers : 30 lb bar x 12 reps
Jump Rope : 24 seconds/45 rotations

Circuit 3:

Lat pulldowns wide grip: 40 lbs x 20 reps
Reverse grip pulldowns: 40 lbs x 20 reps
Bench Press : Bar + 10 lbs x 12 reps
Skull Crushers : 30 lb bar x 12 reps
Rope–Did 4 reps until hit 113 rotations to finish off

1. My knee is not in good shape. I have to have the brace on just right and run in a certain gait to avoid shooting pain.

2. Bar +10lbs on the Bench Press!!!!

3. Skull Crushers (triceps)..that extra 10lbs makes my triceps SCREAM!

I’m psyched to hit the gym tomorrow before we head down to Boston for the day. Wish me luck!

1pm Banana
3pm Roasted Veggie Quiche + 1.25 Sausage Links
3:30pm Small bite of Steak to test “done-ness”
4pm grapes
8pm Eggplant Parm + Salad (should’ve had less EPP, but hey)
830pm 1 glass red wine
9pm Movie theatre popcorn and water

ETA: 30 min roundtrip walk to/from movie theatre!

*I also need to design a circuit for my legs/abs as well. Let me know if you have any ideas.

Here’s some good info for beginner weightlifters or those who want to incorporate weights into your routine from About.com. I also like doing my “circuits” fairly fast as you can get some cardio benefits from doing your sets pretty fast. I try to do my reps pretty slow to maximize the full benefit of the exercise.

Below is a list of muscle groups along with sample exercises. If you’re a beginner, you only need to choose 1-2 exercises for each muscle group in the upper body and 3-4 moves for the lower body.

  • Chest: bench press, chest press machine, pushups, pec deck machine
  • Back: seated row machine, back extensions, lat pulldowns
  • Shoulders: overhead press, lateral raise, front raise
  • Biceps: bicep curls, hammer curls, concentration curls
  • Triceps: tricep extensions, dips, kickbacks
  • Lower Body: Squats, lunges, leg press machines, deadlifts, calf raises
  • Abdominals: crunches, reverse crunches, oblique twists, pelvic tilts

Choosing Your Sets, Reps and Weight
Choosing your reps, sets and weight
can be the most confusing part of strength training. How many reps and sets you do will depend on your goals.

  • To lose body fat, build muscle: Use enough weight that you can ONLY complete 10-12 repetitions and 1-3 sets (1 for beginners, 2-3 for intermediate and advanced exercisers). Rest about 30 seconds-1 minute between sets and at least one day between workout sessions
  • For muscle gain: Use enough weight that you can ONLY complete 4-8 repetitions and 3 or more sets, resting for 1-2 minutes between sets and 2-3 days between sessions. For beginners, give yourself several weeks of conditioning before you tackle weight training with this degree of difficulty. You may need a spotter for many exercises.
  • For health and muscular endurance: Use enough weight that you can ONLY complete 12-16 repetitions, 1-3 sets, resting 20-30 seconds between sets and at least one day between workout sessions.

To determine how much weight you should use, start with a light weight and perform one set. Continue adding weight until you can ONLY do the desired number of repetitions. The last rep should be difficult, but not impossible and you should be able to keep good form. See Weight Training 101 for more info.

I like calf-raises, leg presses and the other leg machines well enough, I just don’t like working legs as much as I like working arms. I have to get some core/ab exercises too. I am also inspired to find some stairs nearby that I can “run”, I remember that running this one set of stairs (93 steps) was a huge part of my running success 4 years ago. Must keep my eyes open!

