I learned if you try you can fly, if you don’t then you won’t, so try ’til you die. ~Juelz Santana

I don’t know what came over me, but tonite I wanted to run. I haven’t felt like that in what…years? I mean, I want to be a runner, but the thought of getting myself out the door, lugging my “baggage” around the ‘hood (never mind that damn, I’m rarely in the same place for 5 days in a row) has been daunting.

But tonite, after getting up at 8am, doing busy work all day, driving 3 hours roundtrip for my motorcycle class and getting stuck in traffic, I had that “itch” to run. You know what I mean if you know what I mean. So I laced up my shoes, put on my knee brace and set my watch.

I only did 22 mins of walk/run, more walk than run, but it closely approximated the Couch-to-5k Running Program with little longer run time (60-90 seconds) and longer walk times 3-4 mins. But I did it.
Half-Fast’s comment about his wife going from asthmatic to 8 miles in 9 months was an inspiration, as is/are Joe’s continued strides, struggles and successes.

I am not all that I want to be, but I have all that I need to get there. I would love to be running 8-9 miles by next May, not sure how a New England winter will impact that (I head to NH for a 9 month project in a couple of weeks), but damn I’d love to be running again, regularly, healthily, with endorphins coursing through my veins.