I took yesterday off completely due to DOMS (delayed onset muscle soreness) and I’m trying to not overdue it in my desire to see results fast. It was hard. But I see that I either do everything or nothing, very little in between.

I can feel that I am getting stronger, not sure about stamina, as I seem to still huff and puff when roaming around, but arms and legs and back feel like I’m doing something right (when I don’t overdo it).

I need to really be in the gym every day. I take off after heavy workouts, but today decided that instead of doing crazy heavy weights, that I’d do moderate so I can walk/move tomorrow to hit the gym again. taking two days off is okay every now and then, but for Operation Best Shape of My Life (OBSOML) I need to step it up a notch!

I think I’m becoming obsessed as all I think about is working out, what my body will look like in 12, 36, 52 weeks, etc. I do want to be mentally healthy with this as well.

DIET
I’m eating portions that are too big, but snacking less. I also was mortified to learn that the tsp of butter that I put in my oatmeal has 100 calories! WHAT?! and my beloved sausage patties? 144 calories. each. damn, so now I am down to really looking at labels and wishing that I could eat whatever I wanted but knowing that I cannot.

I also found another HUGE trigger for overeating/eating when I’m not hungry: work stress. If I’m facing a project or task that I am not 100% comfortable with I’ll get up and get something to eat. I also eat in front of my computer. Alot. I need to find another coping strategy, maybe my juggling balls or something like that? I KNEW what was happening and was still powerless to stop it.

WATER
I do well on days when I’m active. On my “off” days, not so much. I’m MUCH better than I’ve ever been, and I put some lemon slices in my water bottle today and that was a nice treat that I think I’ll continue.

EXERCISE
Today my mom gently pushed me out the door. I am still overwhelmed by the goal of losing 128lbs and I get “stuck” but I got up and ate yogurt + cheerios, did some work then drank a slimfast shake on the way to the gym. And HO.LEE.ISH – I was hungry as Hell 3/4 of the way through my workout and when I got home I had two tuna sandwiches w/ chips and have been chugging water all day. what can/should i take into the gym since i seem to get hungry after and hour in there? slimfast shake? protein bar?

Treadmill: 50 mins (3.1-4.2 mph) I ran for up to 6 minutes this time! Very cool. Music makes all the difference on a treadmill.When I was running outside, I liked being alone in my head with my thoughts and working through problems/issues.

Indoor Track: 1 mile walk. I think this is to stave off boredom and shin splints.

Weights: upperbody (bench press, lateral row, horizontal row); legs (leg extension, leg extension #2, seated press and seated press calf raises).

SLEEP
I see that this is key. When my sleep pattern is off, then everything suffers and exercise and eating right fly out the damn window.

LINKY LOVE

Jillian’s Michaels Ab Moves (video, adjust volume)
AOL Body Menus for Weight Loss

